I Am A Plumber

or I should be as much as I have to do surgery on my plumbing.

The kitchen sink hot water was down to a drizzle…so I looked up all the symptoms and conditions on the internet.

First, I learned how to and replaced the cartridge, spring and rubber gasket. Nope, the patient deteriorated to small drips.
Second, I went in for exploratory surgery, removing the old braided intake hose (it was gross and had some rust) and did a little angioplasty by digging around in the pipe itself. A crusty bit of calcium buildup flipped out of the pipe and I thought it would be golden. A shiny new, stainless steel, braided intake hose was attached, the patient was taken off bypass, but then… nothing. Zip. Nada. Dry.

So, I read about back flushing. I placed a penny and plumber’s putty inside the aerator and replaced it on the spout. Then I opened the hot water faucet in the bathroom, went downstairs and successfully located the cold water shutoff to the water heater and turned it off. 🙂
I returned to the patient and turned both handles to the on position. I could feel the water running through the pipes and let it alone for a few minutes. Then I shut down all the faucets and opened the cold water at the water heater.

I removed the aerator, took a deep breath and turned the hot water handle and…….sputter, sputter, splash,
GUSH GUSH GUSH!!!!!!!!!!! Woot!

How much money did I save buying all the parts? Around 700% or so.
And for the time and labor? $ervice call, plus who knows how many hundreds they charge to turn handles and for the penny.

Now I have to put everything back from under the sink and get busy on some dishes. 😀

About TripodMA

I went to protests and all I got was this lousy surveillance. Proud parking lot naturalist. My Awards: Time Magazine Person of the Year! 2011 Recipient of the distinguished FBI Out-And-About & Home Visit award FBI Associates Program Nominee 2009-2010 County Parks Taxidermy Squirrel recipient 2009-2010 Don’t Eff With Me and I Won’t Eff With You certificate 2010
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment