Hoover’s FBI – Protesters, Communists

http://www.kcur.org/post/student-subversives-and-fbis-dirty-tricks

Student ‘Subversives’ And The FBI’s ‘Dirty Tricks’

Then-FBI Director J. Edgar Hoover suspected the free speech movement to be evidence of a Communist plot to disrupt U.S. campuses. …

So Hoover ordered his agents to look into whether the movement was subversive. When they returned and said that it wasn’t, Hoover not only continued to investigate the group but also used “dirty tricks to stifle dissent on the campus,” according to Rosenfeld.

the FBI employed fake reporters to plant stories and shape public opinion about the student movement … .

This article is a must read. I’d like to get the book too.

Although it’s claimed the FBI no longer uses these tactics, I call BS. When I read the part about fake reporters (though they were used for propaganda purposes in that situation), I remember one protest I was attending where some man started taking photos of everyone. One protest participant asked him who he worked for and he would not answer!

Then some lady came up to me and told me she worked for the college newspaper and wanted to interview me. I noticed she didn’t have a recording device or paper and pen. I shook my head at her. She pushed it one more time and I told her no. She said, “No?”…still trying to get me to talk to her, then she finally walked away.

My EX-friend later identified her as someone who was an adjunct not for credit teacher…you know how some colleges offer courses for the general community like flower arranging, yoga, cooking and all that. That information checked out. Nobody wanted to have anything to do with her though…because she lied and told me worked for the school newspaper.

About TripodMA

I went to protests and all I got was this lousy surveillance. Proud parking lot naturalist. My Awards: Time Magazine Person of the Year! 2011 Recipient of the distinguished FBI Out-And-About & Home Visit award FBI Associates Program Nominee 2009-2010 County Parks Taxidermy Squirrel recipient 2009-2010 Don’t Eff With Me and I Won’t Eff With You certificate 2010
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hoover’s FBI – Protesters, Communists

Leave a Reply

