Grocery Shopping – Always An Adventure

I went in search of either blanched almonds or almond flour for a flourless cake I’m going to bake.

The regular grocery has tiny little 1 oz. packs for 1.79 and a bag of almond flour for 10.99. So….I picked up a few things, but not the almonds or almond flour.

I got adventurous and went to the new health food market. Awesome!!!!!! A very nice man helped me right off because he saw I couldn’t reach the veggie bags on the rolls. The roll of bags is about an inch out of my reach. Sucks being short!!! lol
He just came right over out of the blue. He was so sweet he even opened the bag up for me and showed me where the only floor stand roller was hiding. (I think I have a crush on the pr♥duce guy.)

Before I found the almonds, I found green onions, a perfect yellow onion, spicy hummus and some pita bread. (I’m eating the hummus. It’s fabulous, with a slow after-burn.) Then I went through the cosmetics and body care section…which is enormous…and has the standard Jason, Kiss My Face, Burt’s and all that…and they have cruelty free nail polish in a jillion pretty colors!!! They also have homeopathic medicine displays and homeopathy books. Way cool!

There were a lot of interesting people in there shopping. Some were in there out of curiosity and acted like they’ve never been in a health food market before. There were the stereotypical vegan/vegetarian people, the athletic trainer types, and the darling elderly hippies & nature people. Yes, and no natural foods place in the area would be complete without old lesbians looking to find someone. There’s a regular grocery store farther away where men go shopping for food and each other. It’s just how things are.

Only things I can give a negative about the place is that they don’t have broccoli raab and they have waaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too many cameras. There’s one pointed right at head level when you come into the vestibule. I don’t like that at all. Then there’s a camera every 4 feet above the veggies…who steals vegetables? I’ve never heard of anyone doing that. Cameras are spaced farther apart as you go along through the dry goods aisles, but you can’t miss them.

About TripodMA

I went to protests and all I got was this lousy surveillance. Proud parking lot naturalist. My Awards: Time Magazine Person of the Year! 2011 Recipient of the distinguished FBI Out-And-About & Home Visit award FBI Associates Program Nominee 2009-2010 County Parks Taxidermy Squirrel recipient 2009-2010 Don’t Eff With Me and I Won’t Eff With You certificate 2010
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

